Progressed Full Moon Phase

Progressed Full Moon PhaseI’m coming up on an interesting and rare astrological progression: my progressed Full Moon phase. I’m currently in the middle of writing a series on Lunar Progressions, in which I go into great depth on how your PR moon will affect you in each sign and house. But I haven’t talked about the PR moon phases. They are determined based on the relationship between your progressed Sun and Moon. For example, if your progressed sun is at 1º Virgo, and your progressed moon is at 1º Sagittarius, then they square one another and you are entering a 1st quarter phase which will last for the next several years. You will be experiencing themes of growth, crisis that clarifies what direction to pursue, etc. (I’ll write a future article that goes into more detail about the different phases, but this one focuses on my personal experience so far with the Full Moon phase.)

Just to clarify, progressions are entirely personal to you, unlike transits. They are calculated by speeding up your natal chart by one day for every year of your life. So if you are 40 years old, your progressed chart is the same as the sky 40 days after you were born. They are a predictive tool, and describe how you are currently using the potential of your natal chart. When your progressed planets (usually just the inner ones) change signs or houses, it’s a big deal because a) they move very slowly and b) they mark significant changes in your life.

Your sun, just like in your natal chart, is the most significant progressed planet, and represents your evolving identity and purpose. It changes signs only once every 30 years. The moon is also important, changing signs every 2.5 years, and describes your evolving needs and relationships as well as your general emotional “climate” for that time period. The relationship between the PR sun and moon is how you determine the phase you are in. The PR sun and moon join up once every 30 years, and this represents your “new moon” phase, or the start of a brand new 30-year cycle.

I am coming up on my Full Moon phase, because my PR sun is at 27º Taurus, and my PR moon is at 27º Scorpio (they will be exact on November 25th). This is a culmination, just like the regular Full Moon. It is a time where all your efforts – over the last 15 years – come together, and you can see great success and recognition, or significant loss and the crumbling of everything you’ve worked for. It begins about a 4-year period of picking up the pieces and starting in a new direction, either in the wake of success or the wake of failure. They say the “action” happens right at the beginning, and then the next few years are pretty smooth, because whatever happened happened and you can go from there. It’s kind of like Christmas: you’ve been anticipating it a while, then it’s finally here and you get to open your presents. After that, whether you got what you wanted and are satisfied, or you didn’t and are disappointed, at least it’s over and you are certain either way!

Progressed Full Moon Phase

As an astrologer, I’ve obviously known this was coming. But I have been terrified of it, because up until really the beginning of this month, I wasn’t sure which way my life would go: success or ruin. Over the last few years in my PR Scorpio moon phase, things have been particularly challenging. I really didn’t see the light at the end of the tunnel for a while, but I had to just hope and keep faith that everything would work out, even when it repeatedly looked like it wasn’t. But it looks (knock on wood) like I am going to be okay. I have a great new job that I love, I managed to maintain my home through a very difficult financial struggle, and I am still alive!

I think it’s so interesting that the U.S. election has coincided with my own personal culmination. There was such anticipation and emotional investment nationwide (worldwide, actually), and now that we all know the outcome, we have to pick up the pieces and move on from here. At least we know…right? The Taurus Full Moon today (a supermoon!) has been extremely emotionally taxing, and I didn’t realize it, but it falls close to my PR Ascendant and sextile my natal Ascendant. I think I was too tied up in the events of my nation, and now I have to go back to minding my own business!

On an interesting note, the element of surprise in this election is also clearly present in my own chart; my PR moon at 27º Scorpio is conjunct Uranus (see my progressed chart above). Surprise, surprise, indeed! In addition, transiting Uranus is conjunct my natal Sun in Aries. I don’t particularly enjoy having my life and emotions so tied up in what is going on globally, but I do enjoy a bit of the unexpected to keep life fresh and interesting. It’s also strange that as my life takes a turn for the better on a personal level, it seems like everything else is crumbling. I hope that’s not the case, but at the moment, my country seems to be in turmoil.

In a few months, my PR moon will move into Sagittarius, and then my natal 9th house. I am looking forward to the change, expansion, hopefulness, and adventure of that phase, which will also resonate very well with all my natal Aries planets and Leo moon. After the storm is indeed the calm, and even though this is obvious in my chart, I think that can be said for anyone who is going through their progressed Lunar Full Moon phase.

Leave a Reply

